NOC Week 1

HELLOOO! I’m finally in Stockholm. Five days had passed and one fact remains: it’s freezing over here. On the average the temperature hits negative. I get extremely irritated whenever the snow flies into my face, or my eyeballs. Also, the hassle of wearing two layers of pants, three layers of clothing and to top it up with another coat is driving me crazy. The prices of the food never fail to make me cringe. For a person who has no first-hand experience of cooking, I starved for the first few mornings. It really is important to get ready some pans, rice cooker, pasta/macaroni, oil and whatever else is needed to put together your meal. For the past few days, I’d been out purchasing necessities and it is not an exaggeration to say that I’d walked for more than 100km. Or maybe it is. Still, I’m glad to say that I’m having quite some fun here despite the downs. The streets resemble that of London, or maybe not because I’ve never been there. It is a delight to tread on the soft snow and to leave dirty footprints behind the serenity. My type of enjoyment always involve some actions, so my friends and I took some free cardboards from IKEA and slid down a steep slope of snow.

Sure, it’ll take some time getting used to the independence both mentally and physically, but to be in Stockholm for a year is an immense blessing. A privilege that few get to enjoy. The first day of work begins tomorrow and I am excited and driven to function at my best!

Leave a Reply

